Super Mario Maker – Review

Super_Mario_Maker_Artwork

Super Mario MakerReview

I love Super Mario games. When I moved to the USA with my family at the age of 4, it was the first video game I ever played. So then as the systems changed and so did the games, I just loved it even more. I grew up on Super Mario. Super Mario Maker at first didn’t seem like a game I would enjoy. Typically I ignore any design element in a game (unless it is The Sims and you want me to build you an amazing house…I got you!) but the idea of building my own Super Mario levels grew on me. I had every single Nintendo Console ever released, I am a huge Nintendo fan, and now I have become a big fan of Super Mario Maker.

controller

For those who are not aware, Super Mario Maker isn’t just a design tool. Yes, you can create all kinds of levels with little items and elements from different Mario games and then mish mash them to make it your own brand of crazy. The graphics can be flipped between different games as well, you choose from Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros.3 (my favorite), Super Mario World, or New Super Mario Bros.U. The different games and elements will change how things look, and will switch up some of the items used. Basically you can play for hours, losing all concept of time. You build and then you can PLAY the levels, and you can play other people’s levels too!! We will get to that! 

supermario3

I am awful at creating levels, but that is not to say that the game’s interface is difficult to understand, because it is actually quite simple, I am just not a game designer, so my levels are basically based on my need to apparently torture Mario. You can be as Evil or as Kind as you like when building the levels. I take the evil means of building them, and make them virtually impossible to play. You’re Welcome.

mario2

I think what may drive some people nuts about this game is that you won’t have access to everything right from the start. After building for about five minutes you will get a message saying that a delivery is coming, but you won’t receive those new items until the following day. This is meant to get you used to how the game actually works. I on the other hand am extremely impatient, so I tricked my Nintendo into thinking it was the following day. Which then when I would enter the game the items would be unlocked. I did this a few times until everything was unlocked. If you have any games that depend on the time and date though, I don’t advise you do this trick.

Super Mario Maker is a lot of fun!! When you make a level you are able to upload online so others can play it. I have played a number of completely insane levels made by other people. Super Mario Maker is essentially a never-ending game because there are so many levels you can play. This was the first game with a level design element that I thoroughly enjoyed and that’s probably because it has been a game that always held such a special place in my heart. I think this would be a great buy for the Mario lovers!! I got the special edition that came with the 30th Anniversary Amiibo Mario. He’s pixelated and awesome!!

supermario-amiibo-classic

This gets 5 out of 5 Metal Horns from me!!

ratefive

One thought on “Super Mario Maker – Review”

Leave a comment